This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Badakhshan (Afghanistan)

Last modified: 2020-10-10 by ian macdonald
Keywords: badakhshan |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Administrative history of Badakhshan:

Before the creation of Afghanistan, Badakhshan was a tributary state to Emirate of Kabul, and for some time (1873-1890) was a subject of the Dominion of Turkestan, under the Emirate of Kabul, and from 1881 under the Emirate of Afghanistan. In 1890, territories of Kataghan and Badakhshan were placed under one governor as united Province of Kataghan-Badakshan. That situation lasted until 1963, when the province was divided into four new provinces - Badakhshan, Baghlan, Kunduz, and Takhar.

Administrative-territorial division of Badakhshan Province:

Today Badakhshan has 44 059 km2, with about 905 000 inhabitants. The province now has 28 districts: Arghanj Khwa, Argo, Baharak, Darayim, Fayzabad, Ishkashim, Jurm, Khash, Khwahan, Kishim, Kohistan, Kuf Ab, Keran wa Menjan, Maimay, Nusay, Raghistan, Shahri Buzurg, Sheghnan, Shekay, Shuhada, Tagab, Tishkan, Wakhan, Warduj, Yaftali Sufla, Yamgan, Yawan, and Zebak. There are 12 municipalities in the province, all of the 3rd Class: Argo, Baharak, Draym (or Darayim), Faizabad (or Fayzabad), Ishkashim, Jirm (or Jurm), Keshm (or Kishim), Lower Yaftal (or Yaftali Sufla), Shahda (or Shuhada), Shighnan (or Sheghnan), Tashkan (or Tishkan), and Yawan. Different spellings of some names are result of various sources I used for this research.

Although I enter in this research full of optimism, I didn't find any single emblem, logo or flag for any of these many entities. I know you are disappointed, but so am I. However, I hope that time before us is full of new discoveries.
Valentin Poposki, 1 September 2020