This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Balkh (Afghanistan)

Last modified: 2020-10-10 by ian macdonald
Keywords: balkh |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Administrative history:

Today's Province of Balkh was part of the former Province of Mazar-i-Sharif. Some sources claim that in 1964 Mazar-i-Sharif was renamed Balkh, after Sheberghan province in 1957/58 was carved out and later renamed Jowzjan, but some sources claim that the change of name from Mazar-i-Sharif to Balkh occur only after 1975.

Administrative-territorial division and municipalities:

Today Balkh Province has 16 186 km2, with about 1 300 000 inhabitants. The province has 15 districts - Balkh, Charbolak, Charkint, Chimtal, Dawlatabad, Dihdadi, Kaldar, Khulm, Kishindih, Marmul, Mazar-i-Sharif, Nahri Shahi, Sholgara, Shortepa, and Zari. There are 6 municipalities - one first class Mazar-e Sharif, and 5 third class municipalities - Balkh, Dawlat Abad (or Dawlatabad), Hairatan, Khulm, and Shulgara (or Sholgara).

I didn't find any kind of symbols for the province or for the districts. I found only seal of the Municipality of Balkh, but didn't locate any photo of the flag.

Valentin Poposki, 3 September 2020


[Balkh] image located by Valentin Poposki, 3 September 2020

Emblems from municipal Facebook page
Valentin Poposki, 3 September 2020