This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sri Lanka - Presidents flags

Last modified: 2020-04-11 by ian macdonald
Keywords: sri lanka | ceylon | president |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Flags of Sri Lankan Presidents

 It seems that each Sri Lankan president has his own flag. From the site here is the list of presidents of the Republic (1978-2000 Democratic Socialist Republic):

22 May 1972 - 4 Feb 1978 William Gopallawa (b. 1897 - d. 1981)
4 Feb 1978 - 2 Jan 1989 Junius Richard Jayawardene (b. 1906 - d. 1996)
2 Jan 1989 - 1 May 1993 Ranasinghe Premadasa (b. 1924 - d. 1993)
2 May 1993 - 12 Nov 1994 Dingiri Banda Wijetunge (b. 1916 - d. 2008) (acting to 7 May 1993)
12 Nov 1994 - 19 Nov 2005 Chandrika Kumaratunga (f) (b. 1945)
19 Nov 2005 - 9 January 2015 Mahinda Rajapaksa  (b. 1945)
9 Jan 2015 - Maithripala Sirisena (b. 1951)

Gotabaya Rajapaksa (2019-)

image located by Jason Saber, 19 November 2019


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s flag unveiled
Written by Staff Writer 18 Nov, 2019

The flag of the newly elected President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Gotabaya Rajapaksa was introduced today. A white lotus has been used as the main theme of the flag and it depicts the pure governance of the President. Fame and glory have been depicted from the four-sided filaments that extend from the stigma of the white lotus.

Wisdom and honesty have been depicted by the white and yellow circles around the lotus. Buddhism and the influence it has had on the nation has been depicted by the Bo Leaves on the four corners. Necessary factors for happiness; Uttana Sampadha, Arakka Sampadha, Kalyana Miththa, and Samajeevatha have also been depicted by the Bo leaves.

Hospitality and accommodation extended towards the people who come from all corners of the globe to forge international ties are depicted by the four Na flowers in the four corners of the flag. Dark brown has been used as the main colour of the flag and protection provided in all aspects has been depicted by the white line around the flag. Unity between races, peace and mutual understanding has been depicted by the yellow line.
Jason Saber, 19 November 2019

Maithripala Sirisena (2015-2019)

image located by sidekickgang, 26 February 2015

The Sri Lanka President website shows his picture with the flag. The image should be his flag:
Nozomi Kariyasu, 27 February 2015

Mahinda Rajapaksa (2005-2015)

image by Eugene Ipavec, 23 July 2009

Mahinda Rajapaksa took office 19 Nov 2005. A small image of his new presidential flag can be seen in the header at the home page of the Presidential website Photos showing partial views of the flag are included in the photo gallery at

The flag has a maroon or burgundy field, a yellow ornamental border, the 4 inward-pointing yellow leaves which are also on the main portion of the national flag, and a yellow circular device in the center.
Ned Smith, 3 June 2007

This flag can be seen in use at (third photo - click on photo for enlargement).
Esteban Rivera, 3 June 2009

The Flag of the current President of Sri Lanka appears in this series of pictures in an article on the Sri Lankan Army official website:
Esteban Rivera, 22 July 2009

The number of florets in the border is conjectural, as no entire side is visible.
Eugene Ipavec, 23 July 2009

Chandrika Kumaratunga (1994-2005)

[Naval ensign of Sri Lanka]  image by Željko Heimer

[See Junius Jayawardene's flag for significance of some of the elements.]

Yellow flag with red-white-red unequal border and four white pipul leaves, one in each corner. In the middle there is a red white and yellow rosette (arabesque, if you like, though probably this is not proper word here). [Red here is the brownish red of the national flag.]
Source: Album des Pavillons (2000)
Željko Heimer, 23 January 2003

The ratio is 4:9. The patterned border ornament is still not known as we lack a precise original picture.
Pascal Vagnat, 27 January 2003

This flag seems to be a recent development. Previous editions of Album des Pavillons do not mention anything of the sort, nor does Smith (1982). However, there is a presidential flag in Smith (1975c), blue with a coat of arms and inscription (see below). It seems that it was abandoned in late 1970's?
Željko Heimer
, 23 January 2003

It seems that in all these representations of the presidential flag it is not in ratio 1:2, but (very) close to 4:9.
Željko Heimer, 25 January 2003

Ms. Kumaratunga served from Nov 1994 to Nov 2005.
Ned Smith, 3 June 2007

Ranasinghe Premadasa's flag (1989-1993)

[Sri Lanka president] image located by Ian MacDonald, 19 March 2020

On are images of all the Sri Lankan presidential flags.
Ian MacDonald, 19 March 2020

Junius Jayawardene's flag (1978-1989)

[Sri Lanka president] image located by Ian MacDonald, 19 March 2020

On are images of all the Sri Lankan presidential flags.
Ian MacDonald, 19 March 2020

President Gopallawa's flag (1972-1978)

[Civil ensign of Sri Lanka] image by Željko Heimer

President Gopallawa used (I believe) the flag shown in Smith (1975), blue with the national coat of arms in full colours above a white bordered red inscription (reading Sri Lanka, I suppose, but I might need some lectures in Sinhalese).

Gopallawa was the Governor-General of the Dominion of Ceylon (since 1962, Dominion created in 1948) and was elected president after the formation of the republic. I guess as the Governor General he used a standard Governor General flag. Therefore the presidential flag is somewhat of a logical analog.
Željko Heimer, 24 January 2003

I notice that Gopallawa is not included in a list of the Executive Presidents, therefore their list has only four names. Did Gopallawa held some other title? This might explain the drastically different flag used by him.
Željko Heimer, 25 January 2003

Before 7 September 1978 executive power in Sri Lanka was in the hands of the prime minister. Only after the new constitution of 1978 did the presidents gain executive power
Jaume Ollé, 25 January 2003