This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Regions and States of Nepal

Last modified: 2011-05-21 by ian macdonald
Keywords: nepal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


There is a proposal for eight states to form the republic. These are: Khasan, Tharuwan, Magart, Tamuwan, Tamang, Newa, Kirat and Madhesh.
Chrystian Kretowicz, 26 April 2008

The most recent list of the declared autonomous states that I was able to compile is (the names vary sometimes from one report to another): Limbuwan, Kirant (or Kirat), Birat-Mechi-Kochila, Mithila, Sunkoshi-Gaurishankar, Tamsaling (or Tamangsaling), Newa,
Bhojpura, Tamuwan, Narayani, Magarat, Tharuhat-Lumbini, and Karnali-Khasang

Obviously, the situation is fluid and highly confusing, as many other states were declared already in the past, either by the Maoists, or other, independent initiatives.
Chrystian Kretowicz
, 11 January 2010