This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mourão Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Mourão, Distrito de Évora

Last modified: 2014-08-09 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: mourao | castle(yellow) | sun with face | crescent | inescutcheon | quina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Mourão municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 26 Oct 1999
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a plain yellow background.
Sérgio Horta, 3 Dec 1999

Coat of arms

[Mourão municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 3 Dec 1999

On a blue field, a gold castle surmounted by a silver shield charged with 5 quinas (with 5 silver circles each) displayed like a cross, on the upper left canton a gold smiling sun, on the upper right canton a silver crescent moon, 4 silver tower mural crown and a white scroll with the words in black "C. M. MOURÃO".
Sérgio Horta, 3 Dec 1999

Version without Coat of Arms

Plain (monocoloured) Portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 July 1999

Presentation of Mourão

Mourão" is a town, belonging to Évora District, it has a 280 km² area, 3 freguesias (communes) and about 3730 inhabitants.
Sérgio Horta, 26 Oct 1999

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here