This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Matjhabeng (South Africa)

Free State Province

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: pinetown | kwazulu-natal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Valentin Poposki, 18 Apr 2007

  See also:

Matjhabeng Municipality flag (2000 - )

Matjhabeng Municipality came into existence following the re-organisation of local government in South Africa on 05 December 2000 and comprises the amalgamation of six former six Transitional Local Councils into one financially viable and economically sustainable municipality. Matjhabeng Municipality
incorporates the former municipalities of Welkom, Odendaalsrus, Virginia, Hennenman, Allanridge and Ventersburg in the Free State Goldfields and has a combined population of more than 500 000 people. It is one of five local municipalities in the Lejweleputswa District Municipality in the Free State Province
of South Africa.

The flag consists of seven unequal horizontal stripes of green, white, gold, white, gold, white and black.  The municipal arms are placed in the centre of the flag. 
Valentin Poposki, 18 Apr 2007

scan by Bruce Berry, 25 May 2007

The municipal arms of Matjhabeng, as found in the centre of the municipal flag, were registered with the Bureau of Heraldry on 19 December 2003 under Government Notice No. 1805 as are described as follows:

ARMS:    Per chevron Sable and Vert, a chevron the lower edge dovetailed and the upper edge grady Argent, between in chief between two quill pens addorsed Argent shafts and points Or, a cogwheel Argent, voided Gules, interlaced of a triquetra Or, and in base an eagle with wings displayed of the last.  The shield is ensigned with a rustic mural crown Brunatre, masoned Sable, heightened on the crennelations and crennells with representations of bound wooden palisades Or.
MOTTO:  Mmoho Together Sisonke Tesame
Bruce Berry, 25 May 2007